Naib Canselor

Naib Canselor UiTM

Naib Canselor
Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)


Emeritus Professor Dato’ Dr Hassan Said is currently the Vice-Chancellor of Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM). Prior to this appointment, he was the Vice Chancellor and President of Taylor’s University. He was appointed as the Director General of the Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Higher Education Malaysia from January 2005 until April 2008. He was also the Director, Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education Malaysia, a position he held since May 1998 before his appointment as the Director General.

He obtained his

He joined Universiti Sains Malaysia in 1984 as a lecturer in Mathematics at the School of Mathematical Sciences, and was later appointed Dean of the school in 1990. He was then appointed as the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) of the university in1995, before being seconded to the Ministry of Education in 1998 as the Director of the Department of Higher Education.

Emeritus Professor Dato’ Dr Hassan has been appointed as a member of the Board of Directors of various local public and private universities, and council members of various local and international bodies including the Governing Board Member of the South- East Asia Minister of Education for the Regional Centre of Higher Education (SEAMEO- RIHED) from 1999-2008. He is currently the Chairman, Board of Governors Asia e University (AeU).  He was the Chairman Board of Directors, Kolej Universiti Islam Perlis,  Board Member of the Securites Commission Malaysia (SC) and was also in its Capital Market Development Fund (CMDF) Board. He was also Chairman of the Institute for Capital Market Research, Securities Commission.  He was a member of the National Higher Education Council (MPTN), and was heading the Science and Mathematics Cluster of the National Professorial Council (MPN).

He is a Fellow of the Malaysian Mathematical Society, Fellow Institute of Mathematical and Its Applications, United Kingdom (FIMA) and Fellow Academy Science of Malaysia (FASc).

Emeritus Professor Dato’ Dr Hassan has received a number of Federal and State Honours, including JMN (Federal), DPMP (Perlis), DMSM (Melaka), DSPN (Penang), PGBK (Sarawak), DPMK (Kelantan) and DPMS (Selangor). He has also received the Chevalier de l’ Ordre  National du Merite Award from the Government of France.

Emeritus Professor Dato’ Dr Hassan received the following Honorary Awards: